New lathe stand

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rherrell

I finally got an outside deck built on my shop so now I can weld. I don't feel comfortable welding inside because I have wooden floors and there's alot of sawdust. I still have a wooden deck but I feel OK about welding outside.

My new South Bend is still on backorder but they say it will be ready tomorrow....I'll believe it when my credit card is credited!:biggrin:

Anyway, here's the cabinet/stand I made for it......
attachment.php

This shows it with a coat of primer and the drawer slides installed. It's made from 1 1/2" angle iron and I was a welder in a former life so it's plenty strong.

attachment.php

Drawers and wheels installed and some South Bend blue paint.

attachment.php

This is one of the drawers. I made the handles from 3/8" aluminum stock. I really like the "industrial" look.

attachment.php

Here's the finished product. I have a 1" plywood top and I covered it with 22 ga. galvinized sheet metal so it will be easy to clean.

Now if I only had a lathe to put on top.:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

IT'S COMING ROY, IT'S COMING!!!!

Attachments

• lathe stand 001.jpg
    lathe stand 001.jpg
    82.2 KB · Views: 4,789
  • lathe stand 002.jpg
    lathe stand 002.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 4,241
  • lathe stand 003.jpg
    lathe stand 003.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 2,241
  • FINISHED.jpg
    FINISHED.jpg
    61.9 KB · Views: 2,907
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

socdad

It's made from 1 1/2" angle iron and I was a welder in a former life so it's plenty strong.

Beautiful and functional … I would really hate to see; an really, really hate to move, what you consider 'down write sturdy'

bitshird

Rick you want to build me a new stand for my old Jet?? Had it sitting on a Craftsman work bench with a bunch of drawers, but I think the frame was made from old beer cans. now we kind of have to chase the lathe around. That's a good looking Lathe Cabinet!!

titan2

Beautiful work bench you got there!!!