New Idea for Squaring Blanks on the Lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JGordon

Hi All!

I'm brand new to the family and the hobby. I've been turning like a maniac for just over a year-and-a-half and just recently dove head-first into pens. I know there's been many discussions about squaring the blanks to the tubes - using end mills, sanders, Rick Herrell's offset jig (a very nice looking piece of kit!), and other lathe-mounted options.

Not to take away from any of the other solutions, but I decided to make my own sanding jig for the lathe. It consists of a base with magnets that fits onto the lathe bed. I used two 8" drawer slides to create a table that slides back and forth perpendicular from the centerline of the lathe, with a support panel that keeps the slides tracking evenly and square. On this table I mounted a series of gussets drilled and tapered to accept my keyless drill chuck, trying my best to keep everything as square as possible. I mounted a homemade faceplate with PSA sandpaper to the headstock. Now I can mount my centering punch in the drill chuck, slide the blank on, and move the table in and out to take advantage of the entire width of the sandpaper. Granted, I had to do a bit of shimming and tweaking to the chuck mount to ensure everything was as square as possible to the sanding faceplate, but so far everything is working better than I'd hoped. The chuck fits nice and snug with a couple of taps using my mallet, and comes out just as easy by tapping the exposed end of the MT3 shaft.