New guy

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cae2100

Hi, Im new here, and new to pen turning, but Im very quickly picking it up and hoping that before long, I can make something that looks nice.

I have a little wood lathe made of random pieces of steel that I cobbled together, and machined up a live center for the tailstock, and spur center for a 1725 rpm motor I had laying around. It seems to work pretty well so far. Im a machinist and foundryman by trade, but it is fun to do free hand turning sometimes too like you would with a pen. So far, Ive just made a few dip pens since I like collecting calligraphy pens, and figured that it was time to try my hand at making a few myself that fit my hands better, lol.

Dont laugh, but here's the one Ive been using most lately, just a quick turning job really. It's made of sycamore, and while it is a bit short, it really is comfortable to use. Im not a wood turner at all as you can probably see.

Attachments

• 20210727_220706_HDR.jpg
    20210727_220706_HDR.jpg
    193.4 KB · Views: 100
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Paul in OKC

Welcome! I lived in the Springfield area for about 9 years, my brother still lives there. Machinist here as well. Made one of my first lathes as well. Good way to start.

darrin1200

Hi, Im new here, and new to pen turning, but Im very quickly picking it up and hoping that before long, I can make something that looks nice.

I have a little wood lathe made of random pieces of steel that I cobbled together, and machined up a live center for the tailstock, and spur center for a 1725 rpm motor I had laying around. It seems to work pretty well so far. Im a machinist and foundryman by trade, but it is fun to do free hand turning sometimes too like you would with a pen. So far, Ive just made a few dip pens since I like collecting calligraphy pens, and figured that it was time to try my hand at making a few myself that fit my hands better, lol.