New guy with a die

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello all! I am just getting started with taps and dies for pen making. I thought I'd start simple and make a mandrel for making a finial. I'm practicing on .5" aluminum rod. I am using an M9x0.75 single start die. I cut the tenon to 9mm OD. Threaded on the lathe with a die holder. Ran it down markings facing the work, flipped the die and ran it down again. The major diameter on my thread came out at a final 8.25mm which seems undersized by about .6mm. Is there something I'm not doing correctly? I'm also wondering about the die. It appears the threads are relieved on both sides of the die, so, I'm not sure how I would run threads clear to the shoulder with that being the case. Please help me figure this out or direct me to some info on proper technique. Thanks!

Taking a closer look, I'm wondering if I got the die started correctly when I flipped it. The threads almost have an "every other thread" look close up.

3611B53F-28AA-4646-9041-D9EDA7DB42B5.jpeg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rherrell

When using dies the tenon needs to be slightly under nominal.

I use the pitch x 10% method.

.75 x .10 = .075

9mm- .075mm= 8.925mm

I always convert to imperial... .354"- .003" = .351"

Cut your tenon .003" under nominal (9mm or .354")

farmer

Lube the die when cutting metals ,, I lube wood if I am using a die.
If you have metal lathe you can use a live cutter and cut the threads in that way too.

Last edited:

darrin1200

Welcome aboard Frank.

With your major diameter ending up at 8.25, tells me that something is not right.

First note. You do not have to flip the die, unless you need the full thread all the way to end. In your case, with the relief cut, you don't need to flip it.

Is your die adjustable? If it is to tight, it will cut the tenon, as well as the thread.