New from Arizona

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello my name is Jessica. I am very new to this whole idea of pen turning, but I want to try. I tried out my lathe for the first time today and have a lot to learn. I bought a couple of padauk blanks and a pencil kit, but want to figure out what I am doing before I use it. I included a picture of my first 2 things I managed to turn today.

Attachments

• 20191016_105219.jpg
    20191016_105219.jpg
    375.9 KB · Views: 132
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bsshog40

Welcome Jessica! I've only been turning a year myself. First thing I did was watch a bunch of videos on how to use turning tools to help me to turn safely. That also includes a faceshield just in case. Your getting there. My beginnings were just getting comfortable with my tools and getting to know each one and what they do. Once you get comfortable, you will enjoy your lathe very much. I use mine more than what I ever thought I would. There are a lot of very experienced people on this forum, so don't be afraid to ask any questions. I've learned a lot from these guys!

FGarbrecht

Welcome and good job on your first turnings! Watch some turning and pen-making videos, take a class if you can. Remember always safety first (get a face mask if you don't have one). Ask questions! Have fun!

PBorowick

Welcome from Portland! I got my first lathe a few months ago and have been having a lot of fun making shavings.
I took a beginning class at Woodcraft and learned a lot about spindle turning and tool use in those 6 hours.
I would recommend it if you have the time.

1shootist

Welcome to the penturners forum Jessica.
I have to agree with the others, watching youtube videos helped me a lot when I started turning wood.
I cut up regular lumber into pen size blanks for practice.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Welcome to IAP from Ohio.