Need some help with CA finish and oil.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Pian

So I've never used CA as a finish before, but I tried on 3 pieces today. I'm used to friction polish, aussie oil. I keep getting imo messed up results with the CA. Some parts of the wood get this nice gloss and look like it's been oiled and finished, then other parts look as though it's non-oiled and kinda washed out. Any tips with this?
16120344832766892849895888010183.jpg

I'm using thin CA glue. The wood is zebra.

Last edited:

jttheclockman

skip the oil and just use CA 3 coats of thin and 4 to 5 coats med and you are good to go. It is a technique you need to acquire.

egnald

Greetings from Nebraska - I have learned that there are as many CA techniques as there are brands. The trick is to find a regimen that works for you and that produces satisfactory results.

Many swear by certain brands and recipes of how many coats of thin and medium to apply. Another variable is whether or not some kind of CA curing accelerator is used. I know many in IAP frequently mention how satisfied they are with Gluboost CA products for finishing.

I personally tried several brands of CA before settling in on my own recipe and method. The problem I had when I started several years ago was that I was using CA Adhesives for my finish. I found over time that my finishes would sometimes get cloudy or would be brittle and crack or craze over time. Finally, thanks to a starter pack for finishing I came to adopt the Stick Fast brand of CA Wood Finish and Activator. Although there are many that have experienced problems with it, it has served me very well.