Need Experienced Opinions on a new lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello,

So I am fairly new to turning, and so far I have only turned about 30 pens. I started turning pens about 2 years ago, and did about 1 or 2 pens a week for 4 or 5 months, and then I took a fairly long break from making pens because of college and just not enough time to make them. The problem is that I started turning with a Craftsman Mini Lathe I bought at Sears Online. The lathe has worked well for what I needed it to do, but just this week the tool rest broke (it was a two piece part and the screws that held it together bent). Long story short I spent 3 hours talking to different people at sears, sears parts, and craftsman only to find out that SEARS no longer carries that lathe and does not have replacement parts available. The most infuriating part was that the customer service rep told me that the lathe was manufactured 10 years ago and that legally sears doesn't have to maintain replacement parts pass the 10 mark, even though I only bought it in may 2013.
SO, now I'm looking for a new lathe, but I don't want to buy one that I won't be able to buy replacement parts or belts for in 2 years. I've read several of the other reviews on Lathes and have see the opinions on whether to buy a 1/3hp or 1/2hp, twill travel, and even read about who has great customer service. My question is, which lathe will still be around in 2,5, 10 years to supply replacement parts. I really don't want to have another $300 lathe in my shop that I can't get replacement parts for. So who would you recommend? Jet, Rinkon, Delta, Turncraft????

Please help educate this novice in what to look for and what questions to ask, and who will still be here in the future...

thanks for any and all advice.

Gabriel Rivera

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

flyitfast