My first fountain pen and 5th pen overall

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from chartle

chartle

Also first try at a professional shoot.

Its part of a Pen and pencil set for my son's college graduation. Have to make the pencil tonight.

Hope I haven't made a faux pas by posting here first. I hate introductions. :)

Bloodwood with maple half celtic knot insert, woodcraft kit. During sanding it appears the bloodwood stained the maple but I kind of like it.

Attachments

• 0420151009-2.jpg
    0420151009-2.jpg
    75.2 KB · Views: 449
  • 0420151010-2.jpg
    0420151010-2.jpg
    122 KB · Views: 413
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chartle

Oh and while I'm new to pen turning (first wanted to do it 35 years ago) not new to woodworking or turning in general but only picked back up turning a few weeks ago.

Charlie_W

Congratulations on this pen! I think you did a splendid job on the knot as well as the pen and finish!
Please post a pic of the pencil too.
Also, Welcome from Virginia!

OZturner

Great Pen "chartle"
Excellent, Half Celtic Knot Blank, Fit and Finish.
Look forward to seeing the Pencil.
Will make a Great Life Time Gift, for your Son.
Congratulations,
Brian.

SteveG

You have turned a very nice pen, and will likely get grabbed by the addictive nature of this pursuit. I am not knowing what finish you are using, but if you use CA, there is a way to minimize the transference of color to lighter woods. It is very difficult to remove coloration from the maple without turning it away. Instead try to prevent the color from getting there. Those really good with the skew will not sand at all. I approach this challenge by sealing the maple with thin CA prior to any sanding, and reapply the CA quite frequently through the entire sanding process so that you are never exposing unsealed Maple to the red sanding dust (and dye). I expect you can use the same principle with whatever sealing finish you are using. Great work...keep it up!

chartle