My first bespoke..err kitless..3 part pen…whatever

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from KateHarrow

KateHarrow

I've been making pens seriously since 2018 and right before Covid shut the world down got to take a class with the incredible Jim Hinze on bespoke penmaking. Life (and a global pandemic) got in the way and I never went back and tried to make one on my own. Yesterday I said screw it and finally dusted all those tools back off

I'm thrilled with the result. It has a medium Jowo nib in it and the section is probably 1/4" too long but for a first go I'm pretty stoked

E6DA2DEC-C3FA-4F86-8FC0-B1EE02E4B79A.jpeg
A72F1427-B07B-4630-A0D8-83B2EC0AB7D7.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MedWoodWorx

Very nice work, i like the big size of this pen to be honest. Just a question when you make such a pen you have to buy the nib with the feed as a part i suppose, is that nib a simple one (i.e.made of steel) ?how much such a part would cost and is it "changeable" with a more expensive (gold plated ?) Nib in the future? Keep up the nice work, cheers.

derekdd

Nope! Cast in house (Bullseye Turning Supply) . It's supposed to be our Kokomo mix but the red came out too purple so it got put in our "oops" bin. It is quite sparkly but no diamonds
Well, it's a beautiful accident then and made for a eye catching pen.

KateHarrow

Very nice work, i like the big size of this pen to be honest. Just a question when you make such a pen you have to buy the nib with the feed as a part i suppose, is that nib a simple one (i.e.made of steel) ?how much such a part would cost and is it "changeable" with a more expensive (gold plated ?) Nib in the future? Keep up the nice work, cheers.
Oh I have super tiny hands. This is probably the size of a junior.

And yea you do need to buy the nib, feed, housing, and converter. It's about $20 all in for a basic one but can absolutely be upgraded