Mini-Lathe question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JoeOCNJ

Hello,
I have the HF mini-lathe, I'm relatively new at penturning, but was looking into possibly doing some bottle stoppers as well. I did my usual youtube research on it, and think I understand what needs to be done. The one thing that I did get from the videos is that I can use a threaded headstock mandrel. What I don't know is what size to get. I gather they thread on to the head stock where the faceplate would, however I'm not sure what size I need to buy. I checked the manual for the lathe and it doesn't indicate what size the threaded headstock is. here is a link to the lathe, there is a manual in .PDF format you can look at on the HF website.. but any suggestions??

http://www.harborfreight.com/8-inch-x-12-inch-bench-top-wood-lathe-95607.html

Thanks in advance
Joe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenV

3/4 by 16 threads per inch is in the specs along the the #1 Morse taper.

Most of the more recent midi lathes are 1 by 8 threads and #2 MT -- so you will need to hunt to find tooling -

I have a Bonnie Klein lathe based on a Taig headstock in that thread and made the adapter using a Taig blank arbor (piece of round steel machined to that thread but nothing else done on it) and drilled and tapped it 3/8 by 16.

If you want find the blank arbors best price is from Nick Carter (google nick carter taig).

randyrls

The bottle stopper mandrel with the thread above from PSI should work well.

Hmmm.... I remember I have a stopper mandrel. I'll have to check it out.

kevrob

Joe,

I have the very same lathe and as stated above, the 3/4 by 16TPI works great. I didn't have any problems with it and it was just a few months ago that I ordered mine.

Kevin

monophoto

PSI offers a 3/4x16 stopper mandrel.