Make pen kits

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lmstretch

I have been turning pens for about 3 years now and found only two US companies that make pen kits. One company specializes in silver kits and the other company make a few nice kits but is always out of stock. Just curious, what equipment would be needed to start producing pen kits in volume? Does anyone know?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PatrickR

A lot of views but no responses so I'll throw in my 2 cents. I have no expertise in this just some thoughts. Think of it as small parts manufacturing. All of the major sources of kits outsource. Each has slight variations in design but not much that is unique, leading me to think that most of them are manufactured at the same place.
The two US producers you site have one thing in common, no plating. I don't think that is coincidence.
Its safe to say it would require a substantial investment wether you produced the parts or outsourced the production. Good Luck!

EricRN

For just circular stuff, you could probably manufacture on a small scale with just a metal lathe. If you want to get into fancy clips and more organic shapes, then I think a mill would be necessary too. Platings would require a bunch of other materials to complete the electroplate. If your going to be working with precious metals or molten things (gold, silver, brass, bronze, etc as opposed to steel) then your getting into casting. That's another set of tools and skills. John Lawrence on this forum does some beautiful work casting silver and bronze.

I suppose there's also the option of designing your own parts and then finding a machine shop that can produce them for you. Unless your doing that on a huge scale, I can't imagine that would be cost effective.

NJturner