Looking for a teacher

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I have been turning pens for a couple of years at this point and am looking to evolve further. I am seeking someone to come alongside me and teach me the custom kitless side of the pen turning. Someone who will work with me step-by-step to really teach me the why behind everything as well as all that is involved from tools to dies to materials used.

It is clear that the custom kitless has a lot of different tools and techniques than regular turning. At the same time it is a big change and I don't really know where to begin and I see people saying get this or that and do this or that. What I need is someone to truly mentor me in this endeavour and not the general forum posts that don't really help me personally.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

floatslow

I had the good fortune to have had a session with Jim Hinze from Hinze pens at the SoCal Turners Expo. My before and after kitless pens are night and day.

I have a write up of my process (tool, speed, sequence, dimensions) and relied on the notes from this site and the Beaufort ink write up to get started.

Best of luck

larrystephens

I had the good fortune to have had a session with Jim Hinze from Hinze pens at the SoCal Turners Expo. My before and after kitless pens are night and day.

I have a write up of my process (tool, speed, sequence, dimensions) and relied on the notes from this site and the Beaufort ink write up to get started.

Best of luck
Can you help me find your write up?

KateHarrow

I have been turning pens for a couple of years at this point and am looking to evolve further. I am seeking someone to come alongside me and teach me the custom kitless side of the pen turning. Someone who will work with me step-by-step to really teach me the why behind everything as well as all that is involved from tools to dies to materials used.