Lightbox question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Math2010

Hi everyone,

I bought a lightbox on ebay. Really cool and really interesting product for the price with integrated LED lights. The only thing I found (for now) is that I tried to photography Holly pen and because the wood is white, we don't see the grain with that LED light. Is there a way to see the grain on Holly wood when taking picture of it?

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cbutzon

I'm not an expert on this, but if you're shooting raw images with a decent camera then I'll bet that you can enhance the grain in post-processing. Lightroom and Raw Therapee are both good software for this.

I guess it's also possible that the LEDs are too narrow-spectrum to illuminate all the color detail -- I've always used incandescent or sunlight. But I definitely rely on post-processing to get the results I want.

Cory

Marmotjr

If your camera has the options, try shooting bracketed photos. This will shoot 3 photos, one at normal exposure, one under exposed, and one over exposed. You can set the amount of exposure differences in your settings. If it doesn't, then change either your f-stop or shutter speed by a click or two in either direction, and take the extra shots. Changing ISO speed will also accomplish this, but is usually not quick to change, compared to shutter and aperture. You can then compare the 3 images, and decide which one you like best. You can then normalize the exposure in an editor if you choose. The basic filters on most photo viewing apps can do this.

Another option is to try an HDR setting. It does the same thing, takes a series of bracketed photo's, but then combines the images in the camera. This will let you have the best of both worlds.