Leland, Washington State

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Leland

Hey fellow turners. Names Leland and I live in Longview Washington. I am a self taught artist and have tried several mediums. Painting, drawing, design, glass, tried metal work but found out I couldn't get a handle on welding, photography and my favorite, woodworking.
I'm not one to stick to the norm of things. My friends say that I like to play out in left field. Right now I am working on my 5th segmentation piece. It is a SeaHag Mermaid. This will be the 2nd mermaid that I have done to the size of about 48 inches long and about 28 inches wide. The piece will consist of 264 pieces.
I started turning pens and pencils just a few weeks ago. A friend of mine no longer wished to do it so I bought out his turning supplies. I got hooked. It is nice to have something to do that the results are quick, and I find it very relaxing. I have sold a few and given away a few and I just can't get over the fact the people want more. As I have said I don't stay with the norm so I end up being very creative with these. My hands are rather large so I tend to turn a thicker barreled pen. Everyone seems to like and they keep asking for more.
So far I just have used wood blanks and have been combining woods and all sorts of stuff. I haven't ventured into the acrylics yet. Turning them isn't the problem, it is the finishing that I don't know anything about. Any advice would be great on that subject, although I have been doing a little reading. I order my stuff from Penn state but yet to find a site that offers a more wide verity of bands, clips and tips.
Anyway, this is fun and I am glad that I stumbled across this site. Haven't had a real chance to sit down and read but I am looking forward to it.
My wife asked why I am doing this and I simply replied that your are never to old to learn and what you learn will always stay with you so why not have some fun doing it.