Is punky burl still useable?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

BigRob777

I bought a 50 or 60 pound spalted maple burl, knowing that some of it was soft, but when I cut it, it turned out that most of it is. It is also very wormy, and actively so. I am new to the burl scene and would appreciate any tips on how to deal with it. I thought of getting it stabilized, but that would cost a fortune for that much wood. It is also still a bit damp. I am trying to put together a burl special and this is holding me up. I also have to wait for the cherry burl to dry (once I cut the rest of it). Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much in advance. I'll go take a pic of it, just to make it interesting. That's the cherry burls on the right. Please help!!:D Also, any ideas for getting rid of the residents (worms)?

2005725151542_DSCN1187.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
First I would make sure that you keep this wood away from your other stuff, but I am sure you knew that.
I received some cherry burl but not as much as you are talking about.
I cut 1" thick pieces and took some and dried it in the microwave.
When I was cutting I did notice a few "residents".Some crawled out it the cutting process some didn't make it.[:D]
I have turned a few pens with it.One in particular was turned green as I had not worked with any unstabilized burls prior to this, I was anxious to try it.
It was a slimline and there was filling necessary.It didn't take long after turning the wood shrunk around the areas that I had filled and left a raised section around the CA.(CA will be necessary to fill the punky stuff)
I would cut some and dry in the nuke ,be prepared to glue them back together. Dry as much as you can and keep the CA handy.
Also save any saw dust from the cutting for filling voids.
If you arent doing any home stabilization this might be a good time to start experimenting.

M

Mudder