Interesting history of the ballpoint pen, and the decline of handwriting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jehster1

Interesting read. I realized I don't think I've ever written with a fountain pen (45 years old). Now I kind of want to make myself one...

aldjmc

Excellent read! As a school administrator, I often get parents and teachers complaining about student's limited penmanship skills and blaming computers. Next time someone brings up handwriting, I'm going to ask if they think we should teach the Palmer Method or should we go Spencerian? Then when the finger starts getting pointed at the prevalence of computers in schools, I'm going to pull this article from my desk and squarely put the blame on the ballpoint, and then start signing papers with a fountain pen!

Bryguy

Mal, Nice article.
I grew up and went to school in England in the late 50's early sixties. We were not allowed to use ball points for school work because of their impact on our handwriting. My love affair with fountain pens started then and I've been collecting them ever since. Importantly research shows that notes taken in cursive are more likely to be remembered than notes which are printed or typed on a computer. For me that is reason enough for kids to be taught cursive in school and to make it a requirement for some assignments.
Anyway, what is more beautiful than a fountain pen?

Jim_V

Fountain or Ballpoint, cursive or block makes little difference to a lefty. I was taught cursive in school at the tender age of 7 and used a wooden stick with a changeable nib at first and then a 10 cent plastic stick with the more traditional permanent nib. The point (no pun) is, if you don't either curl your hand over the top or under the line you leave skid marks all over the page.