I'm new to the craft, but am having fun learning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fine Engineer

Hi all,
I'm new here, but already like what I see. This is similar in feel to a boatbuilding forum I used to frequent. I look forward to posting more and trading ideas with others here. I've already gotten several ideas just from looking at some of the threads.

I'm a mechanical engineer living in Carson City, NV. As a former mechanic, machinist, and all round tinkerer, I have always had a penchant for making things. Professionally, I used to make things, and now I come up with the ideas and draw the pictures that others make things from. I've made furniture for the house and done lots of home improvements as well, so I'm not new to tools and making things. This is an entirely new endeavor though.

So far, I've made 3 pens, and have noticed the 90-10 rule in clear display. That is that it takes 10% of the effort to get 90% of the results you want, and 90% of the energy to get that last 10%. My first efforts look good on the surface, but each has a flaw I'd like to learn to eliminate.

So the first one was a Slimline using the Cocobolo supplied with the kit assortment I bought. As a first effort, I could hardly expect perfection, so am happy with the result.