I want to learn more about sterling silver casting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mbellek

Does anyone here do this? I would guess any metal casting would be about the same... I know a lot of you cast your own blanks, so are we talking about the same machinery?

Is there a website where I could learn more? I don't know the first thing about it, so don't be afraid to be too basic...

I'm wondering:

Vacuum or Centrifugal?

How much of a basic up-front investment is needed?

Is this something that can be self-taught (with assistance from reading materials, videos and other resources like this)?

Common dangers involved?

Just don't know where to begin!! :)

Thanks

Melanie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
While it may not be exactly what you are looking for, there is something called Precious Metal Clay (PMC) which consists of sterling silver and a binder. When you heat it, the binder sublimates and you end up with silver left behind.

jrc used this technique to make some small silver pen parts

http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=28823&SearchTerms=pmc

I know that my local community college offers several adult education classes in PMC. You might want to check your local CC.

If the pieces you wish to make are not too big and structurally complex this might be a solution for you. I believe that the PMC structure shrinks when heated thus while you can have a fancy surface pattern like prc used, a complicated structure with moving parts might be hard to pull off.

Rifleman1776