How often do you turn a pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lew

I'm still fairly new to the pen turning world, but I was wondering how often the majority of people turn pens. Once a day, once a week, I just don't know what is usual (I almost said normal, but I don't think penturners are normal judging by what I have read here on IAP;)). And do you turn only one pen per session or more than that? I get in the shop just about every day but find myself doing other things than turning pens. When I do go about pen making, it is a several day process for me, some longer than others. Thanks for any comments.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wouldentu2?

I turn several times a week, have 3 mandrels so there is always several in some stage of finishing. I turn about 200 a year for Turn for Troops. Many times I'm doing some other wood project while finishing the pens.

Reactions: Lew

mmayo

I turn several pens a week typically, but I also make other items every day. When the need arises I sometimes make 10-20 pens in a week like after a successful show. Best of luck.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I graph out a new segmenting design, do some trials, redo the designs, do more trials... Maybe 10-20 pens in a year if I get requests for simple designs. I'm happy to come up with a few new designs a year, then take 2-6 weeks to tweak each. But, I don't sell pens, rarely sell blanks, and usually simply ask for material reimbursement. I just want to have fun and stay out of trouble... sometimes I'm successful.

Wmcullen

I'm with GraiDawg. I've been wanting to ask this exact question of this group for a while. Thanks for starting the discussion Lew!!
I'd say I make about 100 per year give or take. Sometimes I'm focusing on making a "specialty" or experimental pen. Other times I really just want to play and relax and turn 2-4 at a time.

renichols