How long have you been turning?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Skye

Just wondering. I've seen such a vast array of workmanship here, I'm curious to know who's been turning for how long. I know some people haven’t been turning long at all and have really taken off, Toni for one comes to mind. I think people who are newer to the site than her would be surprised how short a time she's been at it.

Me, I've been turning for about 10-11 months. No prior experience in wood at all. Still low on practice, but as my wood pile grows, it'll come faster.

How about you?

its_virgil

one-tenth (1/10) the time as Chuckie...I must be really young! But I was in high school 40 years ago...[?][:D] I wish I had started much earlier.
do a good turn daily!
Don
Originally posted by ed4copies
<br />About a quarter as long as Chuckie. (Makes me feel younger already!)[:)][:)][:p][:p]

vick

About 3 years since I got my lathe maybe more, but when I was moving between states I did not turn anything for about 8 months. So I guess I would say about 2 1/2 years turning.

jthompson1995

I turned my first project in my freshman year in high school, but that was only 14 years ago[:D]. I didn't have any chance since my sophomore year so I took about an 11 year break and have been turning (mostly pens) pretty regularly since February.

gerryr

I turned my first pen in late July last year. Prior to that I had turned maybe a dozen fly rod grips and reel seat inserts. I was a miserable failure at shop in grade school.[xx(]

Gerry,
I haven't turned any yet, but I want to get into the fly rod grips and reel seats.. I saw one done by a guy in MI or MN... fantastic stuff... where I live is one of top trout rivers in country.. might turn out to be good seller.

Daniel