How important is it to have dust collection system ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

I've been making pens for 10+ years .... wood, acrylic, and hybrid blanks.
I use a fairly cheap face mask with filters but I do not have a dust collection system for the shop.
I probably turn about 5 pens a week, for a total of about 2500 pens over 10+ yrs.
At that level of activity, I don't see the need for a dust collection system.

What do you think ? . Please let me know what you'd recommend, if anything.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hey Mal, I've been woodworking for close to 45+ years now. When I first started I didn't wear any kind of mask, just breathed the saw dust as I went. Now, I suffer with chronic sinus issues, have more snot than a rabid dog and have to use a nose spray just to sleep at night. I keep a box of tissue in my shop just to blow my nose. Might be gross to talk about snot and blowing your nose, but it's a reality for me every day...and I mean everyday. No relief from it no matter where I go. I'm also prone to severe sinus infections and spend a lot of time sneezing. So, if you don't think you need one, you might want to consider the alternatives. I currently use the Trend Airpro respirator and it works great, but there's still particles floating around my shop. I'm moving in a few months and will be getting a new system to use. I'm looking at one of the Jet systems but I've also seen reviews on this site recently that have suggested the Harbor Freight system. Good luck but keep your health in mind when turning wood.

magpens

@wolf creek knives
Thanks, Tom. . ( I am not grossed out at all !! . :) )
Are you quite sure that your sinus issues are due to breathing wood dust ? . I have no idea about diagnosis for such a condition.
Is the Trend Airpro something you wear ? . If so, I assume battery operated. . How often do you change the filters ?

jttheclockman