Hobbies

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nativewooder

My hobbies consisted of custom rod building for a few years until Dale Clemens passed and my independent suppliers began to run out of closed up factories. Built everything from ocean trolling rods to freshwater fly rods until the government began taxing everyone's casual extra money. Then, as I took up playing golf in the shade off the course, it seemed like I needed custom golf clubs so I bought all the equipment and books from Maltby and thought I was back in school. It took a lot of experimentation but I finally built myself a set of clubs that don't slice (with the help of a few hundred tips)! Still have all the equipment from both if anyone is interested. And my custom clubs are buried under a lot of wood dust! Woodturning is what I started learning in 2002 or thereabouts and am now retiring little by little.:eek:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

avbill

Stamp collection has a complete united nation collection mint. Have the first two US stamps also!

I hybridized African Violets. and grew Bonsai

Collected old cameras. For every camera I still have film for it. 8 x 10 to miniature spy cameras.

And a collection of fine wine. :wink:

Indian Head pennies

Last edited:

Krash

I think most of us older guys have had any number of hobbies - it would be interesting to know what all we've done....

My first hobby was collecting girl friends:biggrin:

Actually, my first real hobby was coin collecting - I started that just after getting married I collected modern coins until I had gotten all of the Lincoln Cents, Jefferson Nickels, Mercury dimes (I was one short) Washington Quarters and Franklin Halves. In those days you could find almost everything in circulation.