Hi from the Rio Grande Valley of Texas

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Just joined and wanted to say "Hi" to all. I am a retired Building Contractor and lived most of my life in the DC area (a great place to be FROM now) and Northern Virginia. I have been permanently in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas since 2009 and wish that I had gotten here sooner.

I have been turning pens for about 15 years now and can't believe I haven't run in to this Forum until now. This is just a hobby for me and I usually give them all away to friends although I have sold a few to kind of cover expenses. I work with all kinds of materials, wood, Corian, acrylic, and antlers. I was doing a search for some teak decking from USS Navy ships and came upon the site. I find it almost impossible to purchase any wood from those ships. I have a great-grandson who is in the Navy and I wanted to make him a couple of pens as mementos. I have ordered some wood from the USS New Jersey and am awaiting delivery. If any of you members know of a source please PM me. When I get this wood, I am not sure what kind of finish to put on them. This will be old wood so I don't think there will be any oil in it. I use a CA finish on most to my pens and I hope that this will be adequate. So, any help will be appreciated. I have learned that you are never too old to learns new tricks.

Ron

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Hi there, Ron !! . Warm welcome to IAP !! . :D

I do CA finish on all my wood pens .

magpens

I also use CA on all of my pens but I have not done any with teak wood. I guess I will just experiment. I'll let you know how they turn out. I guess you are having real winter weather now.