Hi From Massachusetts

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ColinH60

Hello Everyone,

My name is Colin and I'm a sophomore in high school. I am very new to woodturning but very eager to get started. I have turned only one pen but hope to turn a lot more. I am very open to advice about woodturning. Also are there places to get free decent wood blanks to practice on?

Thanks,

Colin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dan Masshardt

Welcome. What town do you live in? I grew up in MA.

Wood from the firewood pile, tree branches is good for practice.

Sometimes members here will offer a mixed box at a good price. Just ask for what you need.

ColinH60

Welcome. What town do you live in? I grew up in MA.

Wood from the firewood pile, tree branches is good for practice.

Sometimes members here will offer a mixed box at a good price. Just ask for what you need.
Thanks. Longmeadow in western mass. I have firewood but it has cracks. Is it still ok to use?

Dan Masshardt

Thanks. Longmeadow in western mass. I have firewood but it has cracks. Is it still ok to use?

Do you have a bandsaw to cut them down to pen size?

Look around for hardwood lumber scraps too. Look for things people are throwing away. I grabbed coffee table legs from the curb and turned them down.

You can also glue and clamp boards together to make turntable sizes.

monophoto

Colin -

If you are in Longmeadow, then it's not far from you to Berkshire Lumber in Sheffield. They have an extensive selection of turning stock - it's relatively inexpensive, but that means that a visit is expensive because you end up buying too much.

But if you are looking for less expensive options, visit Vermont Bowl Company in Wilmington, VT. It's a great place to visit for inspiration - mostly bowls and platters - but they also sell bags of cutoffs as 'kindling' - good quality maple, birch, ash and walnut that can be used to turn small items.