Hi from Australia

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi all,

Thanks for adding me to your group. I am new to all of this (both pen making and wood turning in general). Bought a 2nd hand lathe 2 days ago and a mandrel and mill yesterday. Turned my first 2 pens last night which weren't too bad but both turned unevenly (photos attached), hence I found this site. From what I have ascertained so far, it is because I am using the 30degree tail centre instead of a 60degree. Looks like another bit I have to buy.....

Yes my first 2 were slimlines... I had wanted to make a fountain pen but the guy who sold me the mandrel etc convinced me to practice in slimlines first. Probably a good call given the oval results.

Anyway looking forward to sharing more of my creations as I progress.

Cheers,
C

Attachments

• D241E38B-EB7A-47F5-8228-E9282257AD7F.jpeg
    D241E38B-EB7A-47F5-8228-E9282257AD7F.jpeg
    62.2 KB · Views: 151
  • F57F4A38-B774-4924-B456-FFA948C1CBFB.jpeg
    F57F4A38-B774-4924-B456-FFA948C1CBFB.jpeg
    59.9 KB · Views: 146
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

robutacion

Hi all,

Thanks for adding me to your group. I am new to all of this (both pen making and wood turning in general). Bought a 2nd hand lathe 2 days ago and a mandrel and mill yesterday. Turned my first 2 pens last night which weren't too bad but both turned unevenly (photos attached), hence I found this site. From what I have ascertained so far, it is because I am using the 30degree tail centre instead of a 60degree. Looks like another bit I have to buy.....

Yes my first 2 were slimlines... I had wanted to make a fountain pen but the guy who sold me the mandrel etc convinced me to practice in slimlines first. Probably a good call given the oval results.

Anyway looking forward to sharing more of my creations as I progress.

Cheers,
C
G'day mate, welcome to the IAP family all the way from South Australia. (you probably are next to me, I don't know...!)