Hempwood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from eteska

eteska

This is my first attempt at using hempwood. I have been seeing the beautiful pens posted here and had to try one for myself. Taking note of some of the struggles others have had. I rounded the blank on my disk sander before starting. Rotated to a fresh side on my carbide cutter. I proceeded by taking light cuts and stopping every mm or so to soak it in ca.

While a bit tricky to turn it is a beautiful material and I wouldn't hesitate to buy more of it.

Attachments

• C8938A19-B81B-4DC2-B75F-42E464CDA5F2.jpeg
    C8938A19-B81B-4DC2-B75F-42E464CDA5F2.jpeg
    224.7 KB · Views: 151
  • D84BDC1C-7B73-4222-A50D-8C5047FBEB44.jpeg
    D84BDC1C-7B73-4222-A50D-8C5047FBEB44.jpeg
    213.6 KB · Views: 143
  • 22F83867-224B-402A-9203-061CCDCE943E.jpeg
    22F83867-224B-402A-9203-061CCDCE943E.jpeg
    189.7 KB · Views: 134
  • 436536E2-DBBA-4CF1-A4C2-B07445B148BA.jpeg
    436536E2-DBBA-4CF1-A4C2-B07445B148BA.jpeg
    212 KB · Views: 122
  • 5D474987-F1E3-4C0D-B020-CEBB6ACA6511.jpeg
    5D474987-F1E3-4C0D-B020-CEBB6ACA6511.jpeg
    230.2 KB · Views: 163
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Alan Morrison

Eric, you rose to the challenge and have succeeded.
Well done. That's not a material that I have ever tried, but you have done a good job with it.

Alan

eteska

Eric, you rose to the challenge and have succeeded.
Well done. That's not a material that I have ever tried, but you have done a good job with it.

Alan
Thank you Alan. I would rate it similar to pens that I have made with unstabelized burls and spalted woods.

eteska

Looks really good. I have a less than 50% success rate with hempwood.
Your posts and a few others are why I took the precautions I did. No doubt I would have blown it out with my normal aggressive turning, and why I did a single tube pen (so I had a back up.) Even still it seemed very fibrous almost fuzzy at times which is why I soaked it in ca.

qquake