HELP! I need advice for turning Titanium.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

More4dan

I'm getting ready to make a new version of my daily carry pen. This time out of Titanium instead of aluminum. Any recommendations for carbide inserts that work for this material or should I use HSS? Open to any suggestions for turning, drilling, and threading.

Thanks!
IMG_0164.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
I'm not an engineer or chemist, but from my understanding, HSS will not scratch titanium's hardness. At a wedding last weekend in MA, I talked with a retired machinist/welder from E. TX, and he talked briefly about welding titanium and the difficulties that had to be overcome. He mentioned briefly the machining part said something along the lines that tungsten-carbide inserts didn't work well on Titanium. Since it was a wedding (my granddaughter and his grandson) the conversations were short but many, so I didn't get beyond that little bit.

I am interested in what the answer is.

BTW, Good to see you again. I haven't seen many posts by you in a while.

rixstix

Can't help with the machining but I know cutting 1mm titanium wire (CP1) with a saw was a PIA. A blade would go from sharp to dull in 1 revolution even with a flood of very low viscosity fluid. Saw blade options were limited to HSS but I had a dozen M2 blades made and did not offer any significant difference.

Can't wait to see the finished pen.

Is Bruce Boone (btboone) still around?

Last edited:

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
One of the machinists I work with works a lot with titanium and he's also a penmaker. He's out this week, but I'll ask him next Monday and report back here if he has any sage advice.

rherrell

My recommendation is...don't.