Hello from Toronto

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jordan303

Hey guys. My name is Jordan and im 20. I live just North of Toronto (Vaughan area). I go to college in Sault Ste. Marie and am in the aviation-flight program. I'm in my last year and for my grad present i'm going to have my parents help me out to purchase a turning system at the end of april.

I have been reading a ton on this site and it seams like the best way to go is to not buy a complete kit. I wanted this one http://www.pennstateind.com/store/PK073SPECV.html but with all the accesories I want theres no way i'll have the cash. The upside is the free shipping. Was also interested in turning wine stoppers, flashlights, and once I get better I want to do bowls. Was also curiouse if turning acrylic is harder on the chisels then wood.

I haven't seen a newbie sticky on this site. Is there one? Or like a complete guide to turning? I keep doing searches but haven't turned anything up except for individual questions I have.

Lastly anyone recomend a good site to get started? I don't mind ordering from the states cause I live 10 min from the border (for now) and can have it shipped to these companies that hold it untill I pick it up.

I'm extremly excited to get into this hobby and can't wait untill I get the equiptment. I look forward to being an active member on these forums and hope to get to know all of you!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

maxwell_smart007

Lead Moderator
Staff member
middle of nowhere in the great, white North
I think your best bet, Jordan, is to visit an accomplished turner and see their setup - they can let you know what is necessary and what isn't...

But the basics:

Get a lathe, obviously.
Get a grinder - white wheels at the minimum - they're better than the stock wheels...
get chisels - starter set is fine
pen mandrel, drill press, glue, sandpaper, micromesh...

That's your basic wish list to start with - get the lathe, and go from there!

maxwell_smart007