Hello from Tasmania (the little forgotten island below Australia, lol)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DiemenDesign

Hello Everyone,
I've been making Pens for a couple of years using kits from Timberbits in Australia, and more recently kits from PensKitMall.
After looking at some of work other members here are producing, I have a lot to learn, and appreciate the opportunity to share and learn more of this craft.
I mostly use Timbers from tree's felled on my own property, and have been lucky to receive other Timbers from locals either from clean ups, or making them something like a Bowl or even Pen in return for Timber. I have not as of yet gotten much into Resin's, mostly due to preferring to work with wood.

I'm hoping there are other Australian, and mostly other Tasmanian Turners and to have meet ups and more social offline contact.

Most of my work gets posted on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/diemen_design/) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/diemendesign).
I do occasionally post videos to YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTx4a5pEpU1VB0USpPAs7TQ) where I try to post original projects, at least to me, or I try not to repeat the same content, I'm sure we don't need 50 Bowl making videos on the same channel, lol.
I also sell off Facebook, and my website (https://diemen.design/).

Pictured is one of my latest pens, a Rollerball made of Chestnut Burl and finished with CA Glue and top coated with spray on lacquer.

Attachments

• PI-9-3-ChestnutBurl.jpg
    PI-9-3-ChestnutBurl.jpg
    251.3 KB · Views: 174
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Hi Dennis !! . Warm welcome to IAP !!! :)

It's great to have you aboard, and I hope you will meet some other Aussies from Tassie .

I am a naturalized Aussie ... lived in Adelaide for 10+ years of my working life ... a thoroughly enjoyable experience without any doubt.

Would love to learn more about woods in your part of the world. . Also your finishing technique, with lacquer over CA.