Hello from Maryland

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

karday

Good Morning to all. I am new to IAP and sorta new to pen turning. Sorta because I have made about a dozen or so so far. Not new to wood working as such but never owned a lathe. I borrowed a friends Carba-Tec which is likely the first one sold by Penn State. Very small but amazing functional for these small items. My late mentor did a lot of turning on Wegner and Delta lathes. I am considering a Delta midi I see around online and from Home Depot online. Variable speed is definitely a must for pens in my opinion. I am already trying suggestions from here on why the CA finish is crazing on my pens. (likely operator error) I am a DAV from Viet Nam and I am now a retired engineer do have some time to piddle with these things. Enjoy the challenge and like to keep my brain working to ward off the "old timers" syndrome.

Dave Clink:)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome from Texas & thanks for your service.

VS is definitely not needed for pen turning. I do all my turning, sanding & finishing (even CA) at the highest speed setting on my 5-speed mini lathe. It is very handy though if you do your drilling on the lathe. I happen to have a good floor mount drill press, so I rarely drill anything on the lathe.

VS is certainly convenient though & definitely helpful for larger projects like bowls & such. I would definitely recommend it for midi and full size lathes, but IMHO, it's an unnecessary expense & complication for mini lathes, but that's just my opinion - many others feel differently & that's ok too. :)

Happy turning & be sure to post some photos of your work.

Sappheiros

Welcome from Chicago, Dave! :) I just got started with turning recently and I have the Delta midi (46-460) lathe and I have been loving it. No complains! Can't wait to see what you make.

rockb