Hello from Iowa

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

m575

Thanks for allowing me to join. This seems like a great community and forum.

I am just beginning to explore this fine hobby and art form. I'm reading and watching everything I can and I'm pretty sure I am going to jump in, but I have to get some equipment first. I have never turned anything before. I think my strategy may be to go inexpensive for a lathe to see if I like it. Then if I do enjoy it, I'll buy something much better. This way I'll know more what I really want in a machine and won't short myself in the long run.

I look forward to learning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

Welcome to the forum. I understand your thought process about starting out with cheaper tools. The problem with that though is the fact that lots of frustration can arise from trying to use a tool that is not capable of doing precise work. That frustration can lead to abandoning pen turning altogether. This is by no means a cheap hobby to get into, but once you have the main tools, it is not that bad. You can take it in multiple directions, plain wood barrels, acrylics, segmenting, casting, stabilizing, kitless etc. Every avenue you go down requires very specific tooling, and none of it is what you might call cheap. Not trying to scare you off. I hope you stay and find this hobby as rewarding as I'm sure, most of us do.

m575