Hello from Georgia (the state)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Velcrodog

Saw this website and after looking thru if for a couple of hours was very impressed with it and the participants. I'm very new to turning and want to start slowly learning pens. I got a great deal on a Nova lathe and some tools but is about it. I'm not sure what all I need to begin. I only have the lathe but not any bits, chucks etc. I was thinking about getting a mini lathe just for pens.
Sorry for the rambling! Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Hi Barry ! ! . Warm welcome to IAP ! ! . :D

So . . . are you thinking of buying another lathe besides the Nova ?
Maybe wait till you have done a few pens on the Nova, and have talked to quite a few folks here.
You are going to need a few things . . try to chose those so they can probably be used on "the other" lathe as well.
I would think that a carbide-tipped cutting tool should be one of your first acquisitions. . . Oh, I see that you already have some tools. . . Are they carbide ?

Get some opinions. . There are plenty of folks here to offer advice.

Check out Youtube for some videos on how to get started turning pens.

Get familiar with a couple of vendor websites . . . ExoticBlanks . com is highly recommended . . . . also . . Woodturningz . com . . . and . . BearToothWoods . com

For beginning pen kits I'd recommend :

Many folks recommend slimline pen kits for starters, but for me the Diamond Knurl is preferable because you get a higher "wow factor" and quicker.

Velcrodog

Maybe wait till you have done a few pens on the Nova, and have talked to quite a few folks here.
You are going to need a few things . . try to chose those so they can probably be used on "the other" lathe as well.
I would think that a carbide-tipped cutting tool should be one of your first acquisitions. . . Oh, I see that you already have some tools. . . Are they carbide ?