Hello from Barbados!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

siric

Hi All,

I am an intermediate woodworker here in Barbados and have most of my experience in cupboards, desks, bookshelves, etc. I have scaled back on these projects as there are only so many of these that you can fit into a house!!

Have been looking for another tract in WW and it was a toss up between Scrolling and Turning and the turning seems to have won after I started reading about and looking at the fabulous pens that can be made.

I have to purchase a lathe however, and am down to the Shopfox W1704, ShopFox 1752 and the Jet JML 1014I.

Landing a lathe in Barbados with shipping etc. will cost me the price of the lathe again, so I have to be conscious of this, but need a quality unit as once it is here, there is no sending it back if does not work properly.

I am drifting more to SFs due to the price (and the 1704 is variable speed --does this matter??) and the Amazon reviews as they seem to excellent value for money.

Also need to purchase a set of turning tools.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks

Steve

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Welcome to IAP the the wonderful hobby of penturning. You will soon be addicted like the rest of us.

If you choose the shop fox, stick with the 1752 because it has 1x8 nose threads and both the head stock and tail stock have MT2 tapers. Morris taper #2 offers the most versatility since you will find more choices of drives, mandrels, and live centers in MT2 (and easier to find) than MT1 tooling. The 1x8 nose threads offer the same versatility.

I have two jet 1014 mini lathes and they have not missed a beat. One is variable speed and the other is not. I do like variable speed but it is not a necessity as the belt changes are not difficult. Even the variable speed jet has three belt positions with variable speed in each range. So it is not variable speed as from zero to fastest with the turn of the dial.