Hello from AZ

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kelley Crafts

Hey all, I've already done some posting but haven't done this part yet.

I have never turned a pen before. I just ordered what I needed to in order to so I should be making pens soon enough. My wife spends a lot of time in the shop with me so I have been trying to hide the fact that I ordered the pen stuff and will be trying to make her a nice gift for her birthday. She's a big wig over with the State so she would really enjoy a nice pen or two. I just need to be sneaky about it. I am a woodworker. Hybrid type, mostly hand tools though. Just got into the lathe because I needed some tool handles and make a lot of items for gifts (screwdriver sets and things of that nature). My wife saw the General Lathe maxi-lathe VF at Woodcraft for 50% off and she said we had to get it. We didn't need it but that woman will do anything for 40% off or more (think craft store coupons if you have a wife like mine).

Anyway, looking at examples around here and you all do great work. I really need to learn about the different pen kits.

If you want to recommend a "cats meow" kit blank combo for the wife's b-day pen I am all ears. Her favorite color is green but that doesn't have to play into it. Her birthday in in a month so I have time to order and still receive what I need. I plan to knock out a couple of practice pens so I can nail hers down right.

Thanks already for all the advice. I'm very active in other woodworking forums so I will definitely actively give advice when I have the answers, learning on this one for now.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kentonjm

Well Hello there David. Twice in one day. I think you PM'd me this morning over on Lumberjocks.I can't imagine 2 people into woodworking in AZ using the handle "ki7hy"

Welcome anyway, I am new on this forum too and its good to see more Phoenicians.

Kelley Crafts