Harbor Freight Paint Pot for a pressure pot???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fat Boy

So i read a thread yesterday on another forum, i will have to look the link up it was on my work computer, that people were making pressure pots out of a paint pot from harbor freight. The thread said about swapping around a couple valves and capping some off and voila! I am pretty new to all the casting stuff so i spent most of the my allowance on PR molds and micas. if i spend 250-300 on a pressure pot i think my wife would stop talking to me (which may not be a bad thing......) :p anyways the paint pot is 2 1/2 gallons like the ones sold, i am aware of harbor freights quality or lack there of, but i have a half off coupon and it would be 40 dollars to start. Providing i do not blow up the garage, after christmas i plan to buy a good one. any thoughts on the harbor freight one?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
Mine has been working fine for me, but there can always be a lemon. You might also check out your local pawn shops for a name brand pressure pot. They may be better quality that the HF ones.

sbell111

i am aware of harbor freights quality or lack there of, but i have a half off coupon and it would be 40 dollars to start. Providing i do not blow up the garage, after christmas i plan to buy a good one. any thoughts on the harbor freight one?
The harbor freight one will serve you well. The thing about HF's quality is that some of their stuff is junk while others is as good as the similar 'name brand' item. Their pressure pots are the latter. Like any pressure vessel, keep it well under the rated pressure and you will be fine.

PenMan1

Many use the HF paint pot. I nearly killed myself with one with less than 50 lbs of pressure. I have since bought a used Dilvilbiss for about the same price as a HF pot.