Grizzly Tent Sale

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbg230

I'm new at pen turning, but after about a dozen pens I realized that in order to save some money on blanks, be able to turn some tree limbs into blanks, and be able to do more advanced techniques with segmenting, it pays to have a bandsaw. I use the pens I've made as a networking tool for my day job business, so I haven't really made any direct income from this costly hobby.
So therefore I set limits on the cost of tools.

One way to save is by buying at the bi-annual Grizzly scratch and dent tent sale. Grizzly only has two stores. I'm about 2 1/2 hours away the Springfield, MO store. I read some posts on some other forums about the tent sale experience and learned that in order to get a deal on a machine you're looking for, you have to get there extremely early. They have an enormous showroom which I hadn't seen, so I chalked it up to an adventure. But I figured if I was going to make the trip, I was going to make it worthwhile. I left my house about 9:30 pm and got to their parking lot at midnight. There were already a few people "camping out" at the entrance gait to the sales tents. Grizzly had 5 huge tents of all kinds of shop items and machines. Dewalt and Forrest Mfg. also had a separate tent offering promotions on their products.
I set up my SUV so I could sleep in the back and I set my alarm. At about 3:30 am I noticed a few more people setting up their folding chairs in line. At 4:00 am I got out my beach chair and sleeping bag, set up in the "line", started to read a book and fell asleep. At 6 am there were many more people lining up. I couldn't see the end of the line. Great people though- talking about bass fishing, drag racing, turning bowls, making parts on metal lathes, what upgrades they were after, and stories about how they were justifying it to their wives.