Grinding speeds

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mkemmet

I am looking at purchasing the four-piece sharpening system and variable-speed bench grinder from PSI. I see the system (grinder and jig) is getting a 4.5 star rating on a 5 point grading scale. As a retired engineer I'd like to learn more about grinding wheel speeds before I purchase any system. Is there such a thing as a sharpening speed grinding wheel chart? Using my current system, a fixed-speed grinder, I have blued (overheated) the tips of my tools a few times too many times. I am very interested in specifics on grinding speeds. Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sbwertz

I bought the CBN wheels. First, they work with a high speed grinder or a low speed grinder, so If you already have a high speed grinder, you don't have to buy another. Second, they grind cool. The tools don't get very hot when sharpening. They don't ever have to be replaced. They don't get smaller with use. They don't have to be dressed. They will sharpen carbide tools and the new high carbide steel tools that are coming on the market. Warning...don't grind mild steel on them.

JimB

There isn't a chart. Most people have a slow speed grinder. They run at 1725rpm. However, some use a regular grinder that runs at 3450 rpm.

You don't mention what kind of tools you are sharpening or how you are sharpening them. If they are HSS then a little bluing isn't going to hurt them. However, if this is happening when you are sharpening (not shaping) then you are pressing much to hard for much to long. Sharpening only requires the weight of the tool. You should not be pressing. It should also only take a few seconds to get a fresh edge on your tools.

Dick Mahany

I haven't seen a comprehensive speed chart.