Fountain Pen from a Chair *Triton*

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from hewunch

hewunch

Had a customer bring me an old broken chair. Said it came from his wife's Grandmother's dining room. Wanted to know what I could make with it. So far, a money clip (another thread in "Other Things"), a frame, and this Triton fountain. I thought the wood was pine, but it is kinda hard and not gummy. This is my first time using a torch to get the grain to stand out. Comments and critiques welcome.
C0E5920F-747B-4ADD-B2B3-BF094CA0B681.jpeg

09969C72-35D3-4302-BD1F-72CB734FEB50.jpeg

Attachments

• 55B2B859-7C4F-4DAB-8FFE-E197B1A6D6B3.jpeg
    55B2B859-7C4F-4DAB-8FFE-E197B1A6D6B3.jpeg
    145 KB · Views: 98
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

@hewunch
I might try the flame technique on some rather ordinary blanks I have.

Is there any thread about the flame technique that I could read ?

Or any suggestions you could offer about the technique ? . . . most suitable woods ? . . . precautions to take ? . . . best way to "wave" the flame ?

hewunch

@hewunch
I might try the flame technique on some rather ordinary blanks I have.

Is there any thread about the flame technique that I could read ?

Or any suggestions you could offer about the technique ? . . . most suitable woods ? . . . precautions to take ? . . . best way to "wave" the flame ?
so I remember years ago (I haven't made many pens in the past 6 years) people were doing this. I don't remember the exact process they used, but here is what I did:
1. turned a piece round and sanded to 220.
2. used torch while blank was on the lathe and that allows me to turn the blank like a spit.
3. adjust distance to blank by how quickly blank chars.
4. Sand to 400 and finish.
Notes: the part of the blank that is closest to the lathe bed will get more char if you it it with the flame from the side (like where the tool rest is). I got a better result hitting it from a downward angle. YMMV.