Found an Old Woodworking Bench

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenBrasier

A friend of my sister had this old C. Christiansen Workbench in storage.... Now it is mine and I'd like to find more information about them. C. Christiansen Co made Workbenches and Tool Cabinents in Chicago from the late 1800s until about 1940. This is all Maple with two wood vises w/hardwood vise screws. It doesn't appear to be abused, but needs clean-up, some re-gluing and refinishing.

Thanks for looking, let me know if you have any info on these workbenches.

DSCN4701.jpg DSCN4698.jpg

DSCN4699.jpg DSCN4690.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gaeast54

Man, some people can fall of the wagon into a pile of mess and come out smelling like a rose. Great find Ken. Still a lot of years left to that work bench.

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Ken,that's is a really nice bench. I am no expert on antique furniture and work benches but,seems I heard somewhere(probably Antique Roadshow) that,refinishing takes away from value.FWIW,you might check up on that before you strip it down. Thanks for posting it!

glycerine

Wow! Very cool! I'd love to have something like that! I have a friend whose grandfather passed away several years ago. My friend got his grandfathers old workbench, looks similar to that one, not sure what kind it is though. Gotta love classics and antiques. They just don't make them like they used to!

phillywood

that's very nice looking find. I am sure you'd be very pleased to work on something that solid. the threads on that vise looks wooden in the picture right. it may be hard for you to use them since the show sign of aging. But yous hould be able to find a replacement for it. Below is a link to Old Woodworking Machinery site and you may be able to find info about the Mnf.. in there. It was helpful for me when I found an old Rockler 4" jointer and i restore it, but they had good resource to get me started.
http://www.owwm.com/home.aspx

skiprat