First pictures with a light tent

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monstersdad99

These are a couple of my first attempts with a light tent. I am using a Nikon Cool Pix P90. It isn't a DSLR it is in the "super zoom" class of cameras. The first two pictures are a mesa pen in Eucalyptus burl and the last two are a Gatsby pen in cocobolo.
I appreciate your constructive feedback.

Attachments

• DSCN4111 (2).jpg
    DSCN4111 (2).jpg
    208.4 KB · Views: 432
  • DSCN4113 (2).jpg
    DSCN4113 (2).jpg
    198 KB · Views: 354
  • DSCN4122.jpg
    DSCN4122.jpg
    216.1 KB · Views: 356
  • DSCN4124.jpg
    DSCN4124.jpg
    214.2 KB · Views: 342
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plano_harry

Very nice. I am not an expert on this topic, but here are my comments: Pictures 3 and 4 have better lighting exposure on the base to show the edges of the black hardware, so that is good, but the glare washes out the wood a little. I use HDR to help with that.

monstersdad99

Very nice. I am not an expert on this topic, but here are my comments: Pictures 3 and 4 have better lighting exposure on the base to show the edges of the black hardware, so that is good, but the glare washes out the wood a little. I use HDR to help with that.

What is HDR?

76winger

Very Nice! I like the low lighting on the right side, it really brings out the 3-D qualities of the pens as well as the prop.

sbell111

My preference is for a white background. Also, the dust in the pics is distracting to me. I find that a fabric background allows me to manage dust better and eliminates reflection.

BSea

Those are very good. If i would suggest anything, is would be to use a lighter background. It's a little hard to see the black parts of the pen. But the wood grain really pops against the black background. I use a piece of black plexiglass when I want a black background. I normally use a gray background. I got a piece of gray foam board from Michaels that works great.

What is HDR?