Finishing Stabilized Wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
I just turned a cigar pen using some apple wood that Steve at River Ridge stabilized for me. My question is this. Will I get any long term finish benefit from using Enduro on it, or should I go from Micro Mesh to TSW?

Wayne, ya got your ears on, buddy? [8D] TIA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mrcook4570

I have no experience with enduro (I use BLO/CA), but I do apply a finish to stabilized blanks for two reasons. First, it seems to give it a little extra shine and depth. Also, (maybe I'm wrong about this part, but it seems logical to me) as the applied finish gradually wears, you are left with a highly polished blank underneath, which will then start to wear. So it seems to me that an applied finish will buy some time before the blank starts to show any wear and tear, but an unfinshed blank will be immediately subjected to the wear and tear of daily use.

driften

The books I have read say you can just polish the stabilized wood with no finish, putting TSW on top is not really a finish and a good idea on any case. I just MM to 1200 and buff my stabilized stuff just like I would for Acrylic pens.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Finish it .
If it were the same as an acrylic pen it would be a solid color and not look like the wood underneath.
The stabilizing did not turn the wood into plastic.
it filled the posres with stabilizing material but there is still wood there and when the stabilizing material wears off the wood will be exposed.

wdcav1952

Thanks Eagle. As soon as I get back from Radio Shack with a new toggle switch for my lathe, I will start putting on the Enduro. I thought finishing was the best idea, but wanted confirmation.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Originally posted by wdcav1952