Fiberglass ladders

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WriteON

Can they be stored in a hot humid garage... forsee any issues? Reason for fiberglass... I'm looking at 5' Louisville that weighs 15lbs. Thanks, Frank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

I have no personal experience with the temperature and humidity levels in your area; however, although fiberglass reinforced ladders can absorb some moisture they will never absorb nearly as much as wood. Fiberglass will break down if they are exposed to a prolonged outdoor environment and yes temperature and humidity are factors, but I think the highest degree of degradation would be from constant exposure to high solar ultraviolet (UV) radiation. UV causes fiber bloom but only after years of outdoor exposure. The condition is caused when the plastic and resin gets damaged and the glass fibers become exposed. Although the condition is aesthetic it typically doesn't affect the strength of the ladder.

The best case of course is to store fiberglass indoors to avoid constant UV exposure and also out of extreme heat and wet weather (i.e. rain - not necessarily high humidity). Most ladders degrade more from physical damage when abrasive surfaces rub against the fiberglass - like vehicle roof racks that don't have some kind of padding. Surface damage can accelerate fiber bloom.

With all of the technical mumbo-jumbo said, I think you will likely be fine storing it in a garage for years and years. Fiberglass ladders are the ladder of choice for most construction and heavy industry because of their strength, durability, and non-conductive nature.

Ok - time for me to shut up now.
Enjoy your new ladder.

Dave

d_bondi

I know you noted you were looking at a 5' ladder.