Casting Failed Casting project

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lon H

I'm new at casting and pen turning. Here is a failed casting project. I vacuum stabilized some small pieces of driftwood using Minwax wood hardener and let them set and dry for over a week. When my casting started to get hot and set it started to bubble? You see what I ended up with. Holes everywhere and the wood didn't bond to the apoxy. You can see this in the piece that I sample turned? Minwax must be incompatible? Any ides or info please.

Attachments

• 20210629_123651.jpg
    20210629_123651.jpg
    362.1 KB · Views: 164
  • 20210629_123559.jpg
    20210629_123559.jpg
    233.2 KB · Views: 202
  • 20210629_123547.jpg
    20210629_123547.jpg
    285.9 KB · Views: 163
  • 20210629_123536.jpg
    20210629_123536.jpg
    253.5 KB · Views: 158
  • 20210629_123530.jpg
    20210629_123530.jpg
    279.5 KB · Views: 157
  • 20210629_123520.jpg
    20210629_123520.jpg
    301.5 KB · Views: 173
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

IMHO vacuum stabilizing with Minwax wood hardener is ineffective and dangerous. It contains a high concentration of acetone that will start to boil prior to achieving deep vacuum. This is similar to vacuum stabilizing wet wood - the water in the wood turns to gas and makes it difficult to remove all of the air. Also, water boils at a higher temperature (lower pressure) than acetone, so the MW wood hardener will behave even worse. Also, the acetone that boils off will travel through you vacuum pump and may pose a fire/explosion hazard.