"Exotic Blanks" Are Chipping Heavily When Turning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jacobbaldwin

Hello, everyone! I'm fairly new to pen turning and have recently purchased some pen blanks from exoticblanks.com to use in crafting fountain pens. When turning these blanks on the lathe, using a carbide-tip roughing tool OR a carbide-tip finishing tool, big chunks are spontaneously breaking off. Rather than get a relatively smooth surface from which I can sand and polish, I get a peppered surface covered with holes and gashes. I've been turning hardwood prior to these with the same tools with no issues. I'm wondering if RPM has something to do with it, but I'm not certain. Currently I'm using about 1000 RPM on the lathe. Can anyone inform me why this is happening, and how they recommend turning these blanks so that they are smooth?

Thanks,

Jacob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DrD

What blanks specifically? AA (acrylic acetate), Inlace Acrylester, Rhino Plastic, Tru Stone, etc? A heavy cut, eg heavy hand may cause what you're seeing. A faster - but not much faster - speed may help, eg 1800 rpm; some suggest as fast as your lathe will go. Obviously how you are presenting your cutting tool yo the spinning blank. EZ Wood recommends a level approach slightly above the midline of the spinning blank. The sharpness of the cutter - all these can result in deeply pitted surfaces.

Log on to ExoticBlanks website and "Pour yourself a cup of coffee and enjoy
Exotic Blanks Pen Turning how-to videos!"
Ed covers a lot of this and more. They are very good, very short, and very helpful.

Plus you'll get lots more tips here at the IAP.

Sly Dog

First, if I were you I would feel totally comfortable contacting exotic blanks about it because they will know the material you ordered and help you pinpoint the problem. Excellent company; knowledgeable and responsive.