Ending threads cleanly

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

soligen

On my first kitless pens i posted a week or so ago, it took me several attempts to make a good nib coupler (I used aluminum)

I finally worked it out and got a good fitting, true coupler. However this is a small fit & finish issue I would like opinions on.

I stopped the threads just a tad (myabe 1/32) short of the barren so that I had a square shounder on the coupler for pressing in. However, I can see marks in the last thread where I stopped the die. It just looks like little divots in each place where the die stopped citting.

Other than this, the threads were very smooth, and all i did was buff them and got a good shine.

So the question. I'm new to cutting threads. Can anyone share a technique to avoid the little divots, or is this an unavoidable aspect of using a die?

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Acornelius

Did you use any type of cutting fluid? Alcohol works really well on aluminum. Not sure what the divots are, but the first few threads on the die are not full depth threads. They will probably be a little shallower the threads that follow.

BRobbins629

Passed Away Dec 28, 2021
In Memoriam
Sometimes it depends on the type of die you use. The most common dies have a taper to help start the threads. Same with taps. There are finishing taps and dies which you can use to follow the starter ones and you will get cleaner ends. Other choice is to try and clean them up manually. I often take a parting tool and cut off the last few threads to make it look cleaner.

Else get a metal lathe and cut the threads on that. Usually cleaner.

ctubbs

I have tried many different cutting fluids on Aluminum and the best I have found is water, just water with a drop or 2 of dish soap. Cheap and clean. It does not evaporate like alcohol will and carries away the heat very well while lubing the threads. The very best thing for threading any metal is a metal lathe and much practice.
Charles