Easy(er) Gloss Finish Needed (Rant! sorta)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

LEGB

First of all, yes, I am a newbie. Okay, and yes I mainly use Crystal Coat and/or Liquor finish on my pens thus far. I love the glass finishes that I see in many of your pictures and would like to duplicate them, but all the articles I read involve multiple steps, sand, application, re-sand, over and over. I have seen a lot of CA/BLO finish articles, but am a little skeptical. To me, using glue as a finish just sounds strange. I can't help but think that over the years someone has not perfected a process or product that will give a pen the quality and durability due to these beautiful works of art.

Enough of the rant and wining, please do not skin me alive. I know that much time needs to be spent on a great, respectable presentation finish, I just think that in 2007 there surly is a product that will give a very decent and lasting gloss finish.

Okay, let the roasting begin on the newbie...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Firefyter-emt

Well, you might want to use a finish made for pens, not the end of the day! [}:)]

OK, seriously though... Anything worth doing, is worth doing right. Fast and easy is not always the best way. I use straight CA applied with a strip of derlin. I apply three coats and let it dry over night. If it did not burn thru, I apply 3 more coats and dry over night. Now it's ready to be wet sanded with 400 to remove 80% of imperfections followed by spot hand sanding for the rest. I then wet sand thru the first five MM followed by a polishing glaze.

I have tried the BLO/CA and I have not been able to achieve the build that I want. I seem to achieve a nice satin, but never a high gloss look and from what I have seen, lets face it, the buyers wand a "dipped in glass" pen.