Drilling on lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Woodchipper

I know this forum has been worn out with similar questions. I have a setup to drill on the DP and have seen some drift on some woods. OK, to continue. I just finished drilling a round blank on the lathe with the Teknatool pen jaws. Followed with a synthetic blank, using the same bit. This blank was as square as can be. So far, so good. I have noticed that not all blanks are perfectly 3/4x3/4. Does drilling on the lathe center the bit so the out-of-square doesn't matter? Cures bit drift? The only thing, to me, is turning the blank round and then drilling seems to take a lot of time to set up the lathe, especially if you are only doing one pen. Several blanks at once- turn and then drill? I'm not a production turner. Your experience, expertise, etc. are most welcome.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I use my DP for drilling my blanks also. I've noticed in the past that I would get some drifting with Brad Point drill bits. I'm not exactly sure why but once I stopped using them the drift went away. Also, if the blank is not square and tapers down a bit you could get a blank that is not "square" and could look like drift when in fact, if the taper is on the exit end of the blank, it's just following the contour of the blank (hope this makes sense).

Chippa

If you're having trouble with your bits hitting center and you know your lathe is aligned, you can try using a skew chisel to true the ends and make a small dimple to guide the bit in.

jttheclockman