Do you remember when.....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

studioseven

I was watching an episode of Pawn Stars today and they were dating a poster. Because it had a zip-code they were able to tell that it was printed in the mid 1960's or later. I hadn't thought about that in a long time, but I do remember when the zip codes first came out. Love to hear from other members what they recall.

Seven

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
when Zip Code started, I was a freshman in college about 200 miles from home and wondered if the Zip Code would do what we were told it would do. So I sent a letter to a close friend who was a senior in high school back home. I did not put the town, just his name, the box number and zip code. He got it quickly.

It doesn't always work like that now! :rolleyes:

egnald

Here are a few things that I recall. Definitely things my kids will never experience, especially the prices. - Dave

Credit Card Reader.JPG Cap Gun.JPG Drive In Speaker.JPG McDonalds.JPG

Mercurochrome.JPG Oil Can.JPG Soda Machine.JPG Gas Prices.JPG

I'm actually a Chevron man. Retired with them but my Dad spent 42 years with them(mostly Standard). I started collecting Chevron/Standard memorabilia some years back. I actually have a very old Standard Sign from a service station, soon to be mounted on my garage wall. All the other stuff I remember very well...especially Mercurochrome...man did it sting. I still wish there were drive-in movies and the days where you could go to McDonald's and fill your belly for less than a dollar. Those were for sure some good days. I think minimum wage was like $0.85 per hour, maybe less in some areas. I saw a sign the other day for day help at a Taco Bell in Bozeman that paid $22.00 an hour. Boy have things changed.

Brandy