DIY Kitless Pen Mandrel

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

freshmaker

Hey folks,

I searched this thread and didn't see any other similar topics, so thought I'd post one. I made a mandrel out of delrin (I've only been making pens for 1 year so I'm very new at this). This is my very first attempt at making a tool to enable creating a part for a new pen design. Unfortunately the centre of the mandrel (the rod, turned down to 11mm, and the threads, turned to 13.7 for an M14 die) is just slightly out of alignment, so when mounted in the collet chuck, the piece screwed onto the mandrel is not perfectly in the centre. I find this strange since I turned it in the collet chuck, so how would turning down a part of the rod end up not perfectly centred? When I make a cap, barrel, or section, any holes I drill always seem to be perfectly centred (at least, as best I can do on a wood lathe, I'm sure a metal lathe would add more precision).

Maybe the problem is that the delrin rod needs to be turned down using a metal lathe to be absolutely perfectly round?

I'd be grateful for any advice on how to make a mandrel for a collet chuck on a wood lathe that's perfectly centred!

Thanks for reading.

Attachments

• IMG_6101.jpeg
    IMG_6101.jpeg
    200.6 KB · Views: 93
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I have found that any time you remove something from a collet chuck and put it back in it won't be in the exact place every time and won't be perfectly centered. I have found that having a hole through the piece and using a drill bit as a guide when putting the piece in the collet chuck helps. What are you using the mandrel for? Perhaps there may be a different way to accomplish the same thing.

rherrell

Delrin is a soft plastic so it "moves" when you turn it, that could be part of the problem.