Wanted Disabled Veteran Looking For Assistance Beginning Pen Turning Journey

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rmiller

Hello Everyone,

My name is Rodney and I am a disabled veteran of the US Air Force. I suffer from a severe back injury, depression, anxiety, and PTSD, as well as some other issues. Now, not all of these injuries happened during my military service. I also lost my wife in 2015. She was a tremendous help with all of my injuries more than anyone could ever imagine and was a true Godsend and as well as a tremendous loss.

I have been turning wood for approximately the last four years in order to deal with my depression and PTSD among other things, and it has done wonders. However, I have mostly turned only wooden bowls. I am currently looking forward to beginning to turn pens in order to try and generate a little income. However, my shop is a 12x12 shed with no power, so I have to wait until warmer weather so I can run a 100' extension cord for power in order to begin my pen turning journey.

What I am requesting is for any and all assistance you folks might be able to provide me in order to get started turning pens. Since I have been turning bowls for the past few years, I have all the tools and equipment needed. And with my Christmas money this year, I purchased a pen turning starter kit from Craft Supplies. However, it only came with five South American wooden blanks along with five Slimline pen kits. So if there are any supplies such as pen kits and accessories or pen blanks or just anything you feel you might be willing to donate which would help me along my journey, it would be greatly appreciated. I would be very interested in attempting to turn some acrylic or something similar.